Winton NZ


Oreti Community Board

Community boards are created by an Act of Parliament, the Local Government Act. They have a special relationship with the communities which elect them and to the territorial authority (District or City Councils) in which they are located. 


In respect to the community:  

• representing the interests of its community 

• acting as an advocate for the interests of its community 

• communicating with community organisations within the community 

• communicating with special interest groups within the community.  


In respect to matters directly related to the community board: 

• considering and reporting any matter of interest to the community board 

• considering and reporting any matter of concern to the community board. 


In respect to the special relationship with the territorial authority: 

• consider and report on all matters referred to it by the territorial authority  

• maintain an overview of (all) services provided by the territorial authority within the community 

• prepare an annual submission to the territorial authority for expenditure within the community  

• undertake any other responsibilities that are delegated to it by the territorial authority. 


Oreti Community Board members for the 2022/2025 triennium.

From back left: Chris Herud, Cr. Darren Frazer, Philip Dobson (Deputy Chair), Colin Smith (Chair), Tracy Kennedy, Karen Maw, and Katie Allan. Not pictured: Dave Diack.

Hokonui Community Subdivision: Colin Smith (Chair)

Midlands Community Subdivision: Chris Herud, Katie Allan, Philip Dobson (Deputy Chair), Dave Diack

Makarewa Community Subdivision: Tracey Kennedy, Karen Maw.


site powered by - Turboweb :: Simple Web Manager